Black Bean and Apple Butternut Squash Soup

It’s a terrible excuse, but I have had so much school work lately that I haven’t had much time to blog, nor have I made any meals worth blogging about. Tonight’s dinner was simple, but I think it is blog-worthy (hopefully you do too!)

Image

I used a carton of butternut squash soup and added 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar, 1 apple chopped, and 1 can of rinsed and drained black beans while heating it over medium heat. Once the soup was warm, I served it with some fresh cilantro I just purchased from the Farmer’s Market this morning and black pepper on top. Apples, black beans, and butternut squash may seem like a strange combination, but I love the complexity of the flavors. The black beans add a nice protein boost as well 🙂 I’m grateful the soup was a success because I have about 2 servings leftover to enjoy this week!

Leave a Reply

