Double Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Image

This weekend I took home my batch of Detoxinista’s paleo chocolate chip cookies for my family to enjoy, which left me with none when I returned to school (glad they liked them)! The cookies were so good that I couldn’t stop thinking about them, however I’m completely out of almond flour. Being in a lazy Monday mood, the last thing I wanted to do was go to the grocery store so I decided to use my resources and made another Detoxinista original- Coconut Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies http://detoxinista.com/2013/08/coconut-flour-chocolate-chip-cookies-grain-free/

Despite Detoxinista’s warning to not use flax eggs in place of the 2 eggs, I used chia eggs and the cookies turned out fine! Remember, to make a chia egg mix 1 tbsp ground chia seeds to 3 tbsps water and let sit for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, it will reach a gel-like consistency and will be ready to be used! I still like the almond flour recipe better, but these coconut cookies give them some competition. My adapted recipe is below:

Ingredients:

1/3 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1 teaspoon bourbon vanilla extract
dash of salt
2 chia eggs (2 tbsps chia seeds mixed with 6 tbsps water)
1/3 cup Enjoy Life’s mega chocolate chunks

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a small bowl or mug, combine 2 tbsps ground chia seeds and 6 tbsps water and let sit for 15 min. Meanwhile, add  coconut flour, coconut oil, maple syrup, vanilla and salt to a medium bowl. Once the chia eggs are ready, add to the medium bowl and whisk ingredients together until the batter is smooth. Stir in the chocolate chunks. Form cookie dough balls and place on the parchment lined cookie sheet. Be sure to flatten the cookie balls with your hand (I forgot to do this!) Bake at 350 F for 14 minutes.

Makes: 9 cookies

Image

Leave a Reply

