Pumpkins!

Today was filled with pumpkins!

First up, I baked a loaf of delicious gluten-free vegan pumpkin bread.

Image

The recipe can be found here: http://www.henryhappened.com/recipe-pumpkin-loaf.html

It was my first time baking with teff flour, labeled as a “nutritional powerhouse”, and I certainly plan on baking with it again. Teff flour is a great source of protein, calcium, dietary fiber, and vitamin C. So not only is this bread super tasty, it’s nutritious as well. Next time, I plan on using a bit extra pumpkin puree since my loaf had more of a gingerbread than pumpkin taste.

After I enjoyed a slice of pumpkin bread, I headed to the pumpkin patch with my sister. She won tickets to a fall festival, complete with complimentary pumpkins.

Image

Lastly, my sister and I cooked up some awesome pumpkin chili! We wanted to use the leftover canned pumpkin from the bread and incorporating it in our chili was a wonderful decision.

I adapted my recipe from http://www.abeautifulmess.com/2012/10/chili-3-ways.html

Ingredients:

2 tbsps olive oil

1 yellow onion

1 red bell pepper

1 tomato

1 can pinto beans

2 cans black beans

1 chipotle pepper (in adobe sauce)

1 can diced tomatoes

12 oz pumpkin puree

4 oz vegetable broth

Dash of cumin

Dash of cinnamon

Dash of red pepper flakes

Dash of chili powder

Directions:

Dice tomato, onion, and red pepper. Heat the olive oil in a large pot over low heat and add the diced onion and pepper. Turn the heat up to medium and saute until the onions begin to be translucent. Add the chipotle pepper, tomatoes (fresh and canned), pumpkin, and spices and cook for 3 minutes. Drain and rinse the beans and add to the pot and stir. Keep the chili warming over medium heat for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Serve with whatever toppings you desire- shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, avocado, tortilla chips, cilantro, etc. I enjoyed mine topped off with avocado and a side of tortilla chips.

Image

Leave a Reply

