So What Do You Eat?

    So what do you eat? It seems that this questions follows immediately after I tell someone about my dietary restrictions. Although I have been asked this question since third grade when I became a vegetarian, my mind goes blank when my dietary choices are questioned on the spot. Something that constantly appears in my diet is salad. I grew up having a salad with dinner almost every night and now I aim to pack one for lunch at least 2-3 times per week. Just like with my green smoothies, I incorporate whatever fresh produce I have on hand. I also always make sure to include nuts or legumes for an extra punch of protein. My salad staples:

Greens- romaine lettuce, spinach, arugula, mixed greens

Fresh veggies- bell peppers, cucumbers, avocado, carrots, celery

Legumes- kidney beans, chickpeas (garbanzo beans), black beans, lentils

     *Tip: Make sure to rinse beans to reduce sodium and oligosaccharides (the gas-forming carbohydrate!)

Nuts- pistachios, slivered almonds, pine nuts

Seeds- pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds

Fresh fruit- strawberries, apples, pears

Dried fruit- dried mango (chopped), dried tart cherries, dried cranberries

 

Today I enjoyed a romaine, arugula, apple and red bell pepper salad (all purchased at the Farmer’s Market this weekend) topped off with yummy lentils and a splash of Annie’s balsamic vinaigrette.

Image

Leave a Reply

