Crisp Breeze and Changing Leaves

Autumn is my favorite season for many reasons. I absolutely love the not too hot, but not too cold weather, the beautiful changing leaves, and pumpkins! Although I am not a fan of pumpkin pie (crazy, right?), I love alternative recipes that incorporate this wonderful member of the squash family. This morning I made pumpkin oatmeal.

Image

In fact, I just finished my last bite while typing this. It was so good I wish there were seconds! I adapted the recipe from http://ohsheglows.com/2010/11/08/comforting-pumpkin-pie-oatmeal-with-all-the-fixins/. Below is the recipe I made:

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1 cup almond milk (unsweetened)
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin (pure pumpkin, not pumpkin pie mix!)
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger

Toppings:

  • 1/8 cup chopped walnuts (approximately)
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • Pinch of cinnamon

Directions: In a medium sized pot, heat the oats and almond milk over medium heat until it comes to a low boil. Stir in the pumpkin and chia seeds. Heat over low-medium for about 5-7 minutes, stirring frequently. Now add in the spices and vanilla and heat for another 5-7 minutes, stirring frequently. Pour into a bowl and add toppings. Serves 1.

Leave a Reply

